Saturday, September 5, 2009

Funky Saturday

Yuwei and I talked and talked on Friday ( a lot of you know I love to do that, right Catherine?!) and  made some plans for Saturday- but of course, we'd have to check in with the hubbies first...
Our Portuguese teacher arrived promptly this time and  continued our class, reviewing introductions and basic questions like "What is your name?". It's funny how I can grasp a whole conversation, but when it comes to it, I can't conjure up the words to make a simple  sentence...
When the class was over, Yuwei called and said we should all meet for  a late lunch (1:30ish), an idea we all liked. We agreed on Barra Shopping, being a place we both knew and it was also close to the place where they were dropping off their oldest son.
As we were getting close to the place, she called me and said they were lost, they went by the mall but were unable to find the exit to arrive there. I told them  how to go back, they called again- to make a long story short, we went to "rescue" them and back to the mall. By the time we got to the restaurant it must have been 2:30 and ... we had to stand in line- a big line!!
We were all famished by then, Alan was taking the hardest toll, so we got him a Coke. He was getting worse, a headache that made him sit on the floor- hypoglycemia for sure- but we were the next ones in. Suddenly, a big shower erupte out of his mouth, covering all the entrance to the restaurant!!! And then it happened again!
Caos took place; some screamed, I jumped, the restaurant manager shrieked, the other boys laughed, everybody stared... my kleenex just didn't cut it, and any other response was too slow. Fernando took Alan to the bathroom while Yuwei's husband, Scott, got us another table at the (open, as in "noo-walls") restaurant next door.
They came back, Alan was feeling much better albeit not ready to eat yet. We ordered our food and  literally attacked the bread  baskets we had in front of us, while we waited.


And waited.


And waited.


OH NO!!


We had mentioned we wanted our food fast, and it was really no big deal- we were all having chicken since that was this restaurant's "especialidad". We tried to figure out what was taking them so long and we reached the following hypothesis:
-they went to catch the chicken, and it ran away
-they went to the nearest city to order a chicken from another restaurant
-they were making up excuses for not having any chicken
An hour and a half later, we finally got our orders- all EXCEPT Fernando's. So we shared mine while his arrived- this one cooked in a much hastier way. We decided to  have  dessert at my house, wonder why...
Cake and red wine, candles by  the pool, cool breeze, kids  playing guitar hero, and new wannabe friends with a new "adventure" to tell about later on... sounds good, huh?
It was.