Monday, September 21, 2009

What was I thinkin'???

(taken from a letter to my two dear friends)


Hello dear Fru fru friends...

It's your long forgotten legal-allien-gone-south friend here, calling to tell you about my latest adventure...

So, I figured I needed;
a) to get out of my shell, hmm , house
b) to exercise
c) meet new people
d) learn how to dance samba
e) all of the above

I responded to an ad in the school's newspaper... 
To make the story short, the teacher picked me up and took me to the class. While he was preparing the music, his two helpers (two young ladies in dance attire) showed me pictures of the shows they've had, and told me about the one they are having today at the Maracana stadium, you know, the largest one in the world! Really?! Yes, more than 10,000 tickets have been sold, and 4000 more confirmed! 
 UH OH... I was hoping for a more, hmm simple?( is that the word I'm looking for?) class, yes a simple, non-pretentious, non-professional group...


Only two more ladies showed up...

the class started.
they moved to the right, I went left.
up, round, left, right,... just imagine Laurel Hardy dancing next to the Ginger Rogers in the class...AND the Fred...

uh oh. They slowed down because of me...
I tripped over myself..
this is pathetic...

To be continued.

(yes, do laugh if you can imagine the video)

Saturday, September 12, 2009

BOOK FAIR

"Bienal do Rio" is its actual name and it lasts 10 days, from Sept. 10-20, 2009.
It's a large and well organized event that turned out quite expensive for me... but it was well worth it since we got books in Spanish for the whole family, plus a set of CDs in Portuguese with some short stories and music.
I realized today that it takes such an effort ot be listening all day long and trying to speak in Portuguese, that at one point we were  ecstatic to see some titles in English. Little did we care if they were " Basic Procedures of Urology", "Marketing in the new era", or "Linguistic Principles". So we set out to look for books in English or Spanish- at this point even Chinese would do!
My first approximation was " você tem livros para o inglês o espanhol?", and I finally got an affirmative answer, "sim, sim, um" and he handed out a small book, basically "the most useful phrases in Spanish, for beginners"!!!
Guess my question was wrong... so I worded it differently and got "não " for an answer most of the time. At the information booth I finally got what I needed: go to the blue pabillion and look for "libros vivos", you'll find them in Spanish.
The owner  spent a long time with me talking about books and authors, Brazil, Argentina, Mexico and other topics, until I noticed his wife was mad and my kids were tired... Eric later on told me We had spent almost two hours there!!! But it was such a relief to be talking to someone and to actually understand every single word, not to mention knowing what and who they were talking about!!!!!!!!
      We visited a comic strip place where the salesman was shocked to learn we didn't know those comics! He even gave us a couple and explained the story, and how the cahracters "grew up" in time- these comics have been around for 50 years! So, I'll read them and let you know how we liked them!
      The highlight of the visit was also the "Churros stand". We each had one, "dulce de leche" or chocolate filling, mmmmm, hadn't had one in years!!

culture shock 101

Elida, our Portguese teacher, arrived only 35 minutes late today, no worry, no apology.  
Since I thought she wasn't coming, I was outside talking to my neighbor, who told me that she will go next week with her cousin to  buy clothes, but we are getting dresses... BTW, do you wear dresses? (I just laugh to myself inside, realizing she doesn't approve of the way I dress "too Americanish" for Rio- and at the same time I see the way they [Cariocas] dress too  gaudy and even vulgar at times;  large prints, short skirts, no-back blouses, flaunting their tattoos and bodies that have obviously been under the knife... I just can't seem to wear that! Some of the pants I see out there look like pijamas to me, others like  gym attire , and yet others like they are going out to a party, but they're at the mall! Of course, like everywhere else, you have the "normal", no-sweat people, but those don't stand out... And, just for the record, my neighbor Ana Maria wears a nice dress everyday; Luzia will not go to the supermrket with me unless she has her high heels and lipstick). And YES, I do wear dresses, it's just that they are kept with the summer clothes that will be coming out very soon.


         We learned some other important verbs and how to write and say (this being the hardest for me) numbers! 17 and 18 will be in my final exam... I just can't get to say them correctly and this is  always confirmed when I call to get a taxi...
  I was reading an article yesterday about Cariocas and their stereotypes and I couldn't figure out what the title meant: "Malandros no Rio". So I asked Elida about this and it triggered a whole topic on cultural aspects, very interesting!
It turns out the term "malandro" was coined in the  military regime of  Brazil to depict a person who is a laid-back, bohemian artist with a  strong link to samba, a flaunty gait and always wearing a hat. The military basically belittled this image and created the stereotype of a person who would usually take advantage of every situation, would behave in a highly informal way, etc.
She went on pointing out cultural differences, such as the concept of time and how Brazilians are not punctual (no kidding), the way they treat strangers- everybody's a friend, but at the same time not- and other concepts like personal body space [a Brazilian has NO idea what this means]. She also told us that one of the worse things for a Brazilian is saying NO, so they will rather say "yes, I'll go to your party" and then not go at all, than telling you right off "sorry, I'm not able to go". Elida explained that a common way of beating around the bush is saying "maybe", "let me see" , "I'll see what I can do", etc. All those answers are basically NO.
So, if you ask me for money, you might hear me say "maybe tomorrow..." ha ha.

Friday, September 11, 2009

That's just the way it is...

Fernando had to go to Houston to a super important meeting- one of those budget  affairs that gets everyone on their toes.This week was a  stressful one in many ways because we learned that our friends Sergio and Margarita Rojas, lost their eldest daughter in a car accident. We pray for them.

He'll be there a couple of days and then go to Mexico to see the family, our house, the dog.

I wish I  could go with him!

I didn't even have the time to prepare things to take over there! I couldn't even make a list of things I want him to bring back! NOT FAIR!
VERY last minute Eric begged for more shorts- he's growing up so much and now he's showing off too... so he went online to buy 5 shorts, the way he likes them. I had to ask Lynda to get them and now to take them to Fernando... OMG! Thanks!

Wednesday, September 9, 2009

thinkin' about you.

I walk a lonely road,
the only one I had ever gone,
don't know where it goes,
but it's only me and I walk alone..
I walk this empty street 
on the Bouleveard of broken dreams
I walk alone.... 
Nah! Greenday doesn't cut it for me today. Change it . C'mmon iTunes, you should know better!
It's funny how  little things an bring so much comfort and make you feel good;
I wake up to a fragrant coffee served on my "Honorary Texan" mug, that I set on my Canada coaster. Then I put on my bright pink {bunko} slippers and head down to make breakfast... get the picture???
I am surrounded by photos of all of you, get your mails and phone calls, silly  facebook comments (find me by Diana Esparza Macedo) and my life has been bright and shiny. Just so you know that I appreciate it all. Oh, and let's not forget the birthday scams! Thank you Dean & Rog for making me laugh my belly off!

To all, thanks!
"I can see clearly now " from Bob Marley is waaay better!

Get up and dance.
I can see clearly now
The rain is gone
It's going to be a bright, bright, sunshiny day...

Monday, September 7, 2009

very touristy... loved it.

Monday is a day off in Brazil because they celebrate their Independence! Besides that fact, we didn't notice much going on in the city, unlike Mexico, where Dia de la Independencia is turned into a whole month affair, with special colors, flags, parties, special dishes and costumes. Why is it so much easier to fully appreciate what a rich culture you have when you are far away??? I love and I miss Mexico, specially the "chiles en nogada" that I used to wait for every September!

Anyway, we decided to work in the morning and go out after lunch, we would go see the "touristy" places  the kids don't know yet, so Corcovado was our first option.
We got there very easily and of course, had to wait in this HUGE line, but we're getting the hang of it. We actually thought it wasn't that bad, until you realize it's only one of three queues you have to go through. At least it's fun to watch all the different people, and all those tourists!!! (like we're locals, huh?)
The train is fun to ride, scary at some points, specially when it stopped in the middle of the tracks, at a 45 angle, in the middle of the jungle, trust me, it's not funny. But everyone seemed so calm and happy.
The train climbs the mountain and carries you roughly 770m (2,500 ft) upward- impressive!
Once you get off and see the massive sculpture you can't help but admire such a feat. You're holding your breath, watching the majestic art piece, and then you get a glimpse of the stunning view. You reach the top and see the mind-blowing scenery; the water, the mountains, the city, Christ. It's almost too much.
We were lucky to arrive there in time to squeeze into the tiny chapel and attend mass there!
And just before the sun set and presented its beautiful colors, we had some mango juice and took [yet more] pictures.
AAAHHHH! you have got to come see this for yourself! Trust me, you don't want to miss this.

Sunday, September 6, 2009

Been there...

Fernando had lots of work to do, so this rainy and "cold front" Sunday was good for staying at home till lunch.
Eric had mentioned his group of friends were getting together at a new mall for us to watch a movie, so we decided to have our late lunch there. It turns out this is a very nice mall and we found a great Asian restaurant. Of course there was a wait-to-be-seated-line, but mommy knows best and now I actually FEED my family before going out to eat, so the wait was totally easy for us. Now we didn't care if it took them forever to serve us, and we realized they probably do it on purpose so that people can talk to each other and enjoy the day out. Nobody else seems to care that everything is so slow, they even enjoy it!
So, while we waited, we asked Eric all the details about this group outing. He wasn't very sure who was going, but he "had a number".
"whose number is it?" asked a nosey mom.
"hmm, I don't know, but it's someone who's organizing the whole thing, look"
"ha, I bet it's a girl's!" pointed out a smiley dad.
"naawwhh. what are you talking about" replied the red faced teen.
"And, I bet the group is made of only two... the girl and you!", ventured dad.
"no way!" said Eric.
"wanna bet?" chorused the parents!
That's why we were all cracking up when it turned out that it was Luna's phone number, the girl from the States, and guess what? nobody could go to the movies today!
Delicious food finally arrived and so did another phone call: "Eric, wanna come to my house instead?", but mom & dad were not going to let a good family Sunday go away... neither were they going to leave their little baby with God knows who!...  you know how those girls are!  ;-)

Saturday, September 5, 2009

Funky Saturday

Yuwei and I talked and talked on Friday ( a lot of you know I love to do that, right Catherine?!) and  made some plans for Saturday- but of course, we'd have to check in with the hubbies first...
Our Portuguese teacher arrived promptly this time and  continued our class, reviewing introductions and basic questions like "What is your name?". It's funny how I can grasp a whole conversation, but when it comes to it, I can't conjure up the words to make a simple  sentence...
When the class was over, Yuwei called and said we should all meet for  a late lunch (1:30ish), an idea we all liked. We agreed on Barra Shopping, being a place we both knew and it was also close to the place where they were dropping off their oldest son.
As we were getting close to the place, she called me and said they were lost, they went by the mall but were unable to find the exit to arrive there. I told them  how to go back, they called again- to make a long story short, we went to "rescue" them and back to the mall. By the time we got to the restaurant it must have been 2:30 and ... we had to stand in line- a big line!!
We were all famished by then, Alan was taking the hardest toll, so we got him a Coke. He was getting worse, a headache that made him sit on the floor- hypoglycemia for sure- but we were the next ones in. Suddenly, a big shower erupte out of his mouth, covering all the entrance to the restaurant!!! And then it happened again!
Caos took place; some screamed, I jumped, the restaurant manager shrieked, the other boys laughed, everybody stared... my kleenex just didn't cut it, and any other response was too slow. Fernando took Alan to the bathroom while Yuwei's husband, Scott, got us another table at the (open, as in "noo-walls") restaurant next door.
They came back, Alan was feeling much better albeit not ready to eat yet. We ordered our food and  literally attacked the bread  baskets we had in front of us, while we waited.


And waited.


And waited.


OH NO!!


We had mentioned we wanted our food fast, and it was really no big deal- we were all having chicken since that was this restaurant's "especialidad". We tried to figure out what was taking them so long and we reached the following hypothesis:
-they went to catch the chicken, and it ran away
-they went to the nearest city to order a chicken from another restaurant
-they were making up excuses for not having any chicken
An hour and a half later, we finally got our orders- all EXCEPT Fernando's. So we shared mine while his arrived- this one cooked in a much hastier way. We decided to  have  dessert at my house, wonder why...
Cake and red wine, candles by  the pool, cool breeze, kids  playing guitar hero, and new wannabe friends with a new "adventure" to tell about later on... sounds good, huh?
It was.

Friday, September 4, 2009

There IS a silver lining...

I went to the middle school "community meeting", first time that I'm actually driving to school, so I was a little nervous about it. We arrived an hour early, but a good book and the chance to talk to Eric's Spanish teacher made it seem so much shorter. I  walked into the MS office to ask where the meeting was taking place at the same time another lady was getting my answer, so I just asked if I could follow her there. It turned out she's a French who's lived here for 5 years, with a kid in 8th ("great!" I thought to myself, a chance to make a friend!). Wrong. As soon as we reached the place, and in the middle of my sentence, she simply turned around and greeted her other friend, leaving me standing there, perplexed, wondering if it was just a matter of seconds till she went on with the introductions... I could only see her back, with not a single sign of moving, so I moved along, entered the room and scanned the area. A group of about 6 were seated on the sofas, I  went there and cheered "hello!", got some responses, but everyone just turned around to keep on talking to the one nearby... so much for my "Lynda approach".
I started feeling very bad about it, totally set aside and lonely. I  was just sitting there and nobody even tried to take me into the group, so I decided to  move to the table and start writing in my agenda what was going through my mind:
"you can hold back the tears and suck them in from the inside. Watery eyes start giving you away and you fight  hard to  prevent it.
You try  to remember happy times with your friends and it only makes it worse. Where are you??(talking to all my friends, screaming inside and trying to  seem normal on the outside)..." And suddenly, a hand was over my agenda! I looked up and Yuwei, the Chinese lady I had talked to the other day, handed me my lost pen. "Is this yours?" she asked with a smile, and proceeded to double kiss and hug me.
(imagine angels singing in the back)," Ni hao, yuwei! Xie xie." I warily answered. She went on and on about the kids, the traffic, the meeting, and everything seemed right again.
The meeting was quite insightful, we met [yet again] the new MS principal, talked about school  affairs and I left to see Alan's counselor.
At this school, they have a "total communication " policy, and the counselors meet regularly with the parents to see how the kids- and the family- are coping with the new  school, city, environment, etc., to offer their support, tips- very warm and helpful.
As I walked out, I met Yuwei again and asked if I wanted to join her for lunch- we decided it would be easier to have it there at school. For those of you shocked about this (ie, all of you), school lunch at EARJ is actually very good and cheap. It's a very complete and well made meal, with a salad bar, a dessert bar and a beautiful view. Plus, grown ups get to sit outside and away from the kids! yeah!
After that, I offered to drive her home and she asked if I could help her translate (!!!) some things to her maid, so I got to see her house too.
By the time I was leaving, it was time to get the kids, so we both went back to school and I almost pulled mine off the bus.
It was a good day after all, plus I didn't get lost!

Tuesday, September 1, 2009

to ATM or not to ATM, that is the question

Credit, money, and taxes are clearly all very local and complicated issues regardless of the country. Since this blog is about us in Rio, I will try to stick to that, noting that I do not like these issues in ANY country- and I don't think anybody likes taxes in any part of the world either...
Anyway, it seems Brazil has one of the-if not THE- world's most advance tax system. Fernando was showed in detail how it works and I can just see it. Without going into details, it basically works like this:
everybody has a CPF [Cadastro do Pessoa Fisica] number (sort of like the SS# ) on a card, like a blue credit card. We got our cards as soon as -kid you not-  we applied for the visa, so even before having a visa I already had my CPF card.
All the registers use your CPF number for just about anything, like an ID elsewhere. Whenever you buy anything at the store, movies, restaurant, etc. the tax is already included in the price, and the moment you pay, that tax is sent to the government first and then the store is payed or whatever. In the case that you have to pay tax for the prodct/service, it acts the same way: the government is immedaitely paid first.
 So, if you want to return something, you must show your CPF and they register the transaction. (IT's a total pain and you only have 48 hours to exchange- if at all).

     Credit is extremely and ridiculously high here, so most people do not use their credit cards even if they have one. Every time you pay for something the cashier will automatically ask "Credit or debit?".

It was VERY easy for us to open a bank account and have a credit/debit card. They do not do - or maybe they do, but you don't know- credit report checks,  if you have the money, you deposit  and that's the end of that. We started with some money and the paycheck and we were all set in one or two weeks. WOW and major WOW! We were absolutely impressed.

Your cards need more numbers for the PIN, six vs four. Now, here's the trick: since security is an issue here, they have made their system hard to  break into, but also hard to use- especially if you're not familiar with the terms and the language.
Elsewhere, you insert your card, type your PIN and then execute whatever you need (for example get cash).
Here, first of all, you have to understand what type of ATM you need, because if you're at the mall where the bank has at least 6 or 7 of them lined up, one will only give the balance, others will give cash, and yet others are to pay for services.
Second, you must make sure it's working, they don't necessarily have a sign that says otherwise, so you must be observant enough to see which one is the most used.
Third you must equip yourself with a load of  tolerance and patience...
The ATM asks you to insert your card, and  punch in your PIN, but not the whole 6 numbers, just the first (or last) four. BUT wait: you are not given the traditional number pad, but an aleatory combination of pairs, always in different place as before, and you must choose from those according to your PIN:

Say your PIN is 123456

Then you have to chose 1234 from the following pairs, in the correct order:


0-4         2-6        3-5    1-9         8-7

So you'd choose 1-9 first, then the 2-6 pair , and so on.
Once that is taken care of, you must insert your card again and retrieve it quickly. Type in your password again (the pairs are now different and in another order). Nope, you didn't do it quickly enough.
Again.
Nope, your password is not correct, etc. (remeber to breathe in and out  slowly)
Oh! I forgot to mention there are actually two passwords to use... you can see it does get confusing. By the time you have the option to choose different actions, you already forgot what you were there for!

I have only done it with Fernando- you need a whole team doing it together! My option has been simpler: cash a check at the bank! ha ha.

Luzia, the cleaning lady

She's funny and fast working, tries to be around if something is going on, and is amazed by the kind of things I have, like the slow cooker, the drying machine, such a large fridge, etc.
On Friday, right before leaving, she told me that if the weather allowed, she would change all the bed sheets on Monday. What?!
"Yes, you know how it's been raining and it will take a very long time for them to dry, so maybe we should wait until we have a sunny day!"
So, Monday morning I told her that the bed sheets would be washed regardless of the climate, and that we would be using the drier. She refused, claiming there was no need to do that, to waste energy, maybe for the towels that are so much heavier... and she hung the sheets to dry, under the roof so the rain would not get to them.
Finally on Tuesday, she accepted humidity is high, rain is still here and the drier is waiting. I showed her the sign that says "energy preferred" hoping she would grasp the idea that it's less of a pollutant. She does have a point and I know it.
Then I saw her put the towels in: folded! ha ha ha ha. I insisted she could just throw them in, but she said it was better that way. There's no point arguing with great-grandma.

   I showed her how to set the slow cooker and then, as I was brushing my hair to go out, told her to put some chicken and vegetables in there. Before I could say "hey", she had already started cooking the chicken in a pan, with oil (which was precisely what I was trying to avoid) and there was no convincing her that it could only be cooked in the crockpot... that it's main purpose was to avoid further cooking, time, etc.

Eric had some freinds over for the weekend and in the complexity of things, a wooden spoon was left outside, near the pool. Today, Luzia showed me that spoon, all gnawed at the tip, like a bone. She told me there are some animals, for all I understood they are like skunks, that live in the area, are scared of people, but they are always looking for extra food. We should never leave things outside, like food or small trinkets. Do you want me to put out some venom to kill it?
-"oooh! And then what would you do with it? " I shrieked. "Well, I'll just put it in the trash, like I've done before. Unless a cat eats the venom, then you'll have to do it because I'm afraid of dead cats."

I'm totally skipping that one.