Monday, July 6, 2009

shopping mall and eating out

We are oficially in Barra de Tijuca, one of Rio's suburbs. there are lots of buildings and some subdivisions with houses. All the houses are different from one another in every possible way, and the subdivisions are separated from one another and all with different services. I still don't know if we'll have a tennis court where we'll live, I'll check the house out tomorrow and let you know!

There are lots and lots of shopping malls, all styles and sizes, the largest one is called "Barra Shopping" and it's HUGE, I mean REALLY huge. We have been there 3 or 4 times already and haven't yet covered it all.
There are all kinds of stores, local and foreign like Chemise Lacoste and Mont Blanc. They have 18 movie theaters and lots of fast food. Local, fresh and "natural" fast food, served in real plates and with real silverware, served by waiters. I told you they don't like disposables...
Mc Donalds is here, too (although you pay twice as much), and they also have a Hard Rock Cafe, Outback, Applebees and the pizza places. Everything else is a local brand and quite good too! On Saturday we ate at a local grill, Fernando and Eric were ordering at the counter and the lady asked "sobremesa?" (which in Spanish is literally "on top of the table") and Fernando and Eric both pointed to our table and said "si, si, sobremesa". The lady couldn't help an outburst of laughter and then pointed to the desserts and repeated "sobremesa, sobremesa"... Now we know how to say dessert in Portuguese!!! ha ha ha ha

There are a couple of huge libraries, including the French FNAC.
We are still trying to figure out which communication company to get (ie, tv, internet, cell, local phone, etc), there are quite a few and with all the different plans you can imagine. Plus, we have to understand everything, it was quite confusing when they started mentioning "torpedoes" and then we found out it's the IM's.
People hang out in groups or couples, they love to sit and talk, so you see coffee shops all over the place with people hanging out there talking. I always see groups of men, more than women, chatting away and having a good time.
All the ladies wear high heels no matter what. Jeans, a cute blouse and high heels is the norm, unless they're really old, really young, or unless they are foreigners (like me and my pink crocs). Now we can go around easily pointing out the tourists !!! And yes, they are slim for the most part, some are very skinny and good looking and they like to show it off, I think they are really competing in that sense!
Their taste is very different to what I'm used to and I can't quite define it yet, but I'll try to take pictures to show you what it's like, some of it I love and some I just can't picture myself wearing it!!!!
We have gotten lost a couple of times, but nothing we can't fix. Fernando has had the worst, he has gotten lost a few times and has had to go back to the office and get someone to show him the way. the kids and I haven't really gone anywhere else, so there's not getting lost at the beach or at the hotel.
Today I took a bag full of clothes to the laundry, hoping I understood all she told me...



No comments:

Post a Comment