Friday, August 28, 2009

why, oh why?!

Today was the day set for grocery shopping. Luzia gave me her list and I ventured out to a new store, Mundial. It's basically like the others, its size like a small Wal Mart (the "neighborhood" kind) and a good parking. All the stores here have the secured parking where you get a ticket that you must surrender on your way out, while showing your purchase receipt. Most don't charge, only our famous Barra Shopping [mall] charges R$5, which is roughly $2.5 USD for about 3-4 hours.
Again, I went on basically all the aisles, taking things here and there- it's actually easier to buy when you don't have much of an option: what do you want, the Corn Flakes, Choco-something, or sugar-other?
I filled up the cart with eggs, cheese, milk, vegetables, cereals, juice, bread, tortillas (the ones with the instruction guide), cookies, meat, chicken, etc. and proceeded to check out.
The lady was amazed that I actually use the reusable shopping bags (I brought some from: Kroger, Wal Mart, Mexico), and I pointed out that they sell some and she just shrugged her shoulders and smiled.
She gave me the grand total- around R$275 and I handed her my credit card...
-"Credito ou debito?"
-"credito," I answered.
- we don't take credit, only debit or checks
I searched my wallet and remembered I had also decided to change purse today and I must have left my debit card home...
I searched again and only found R$165. I searched some more, found 2 more Reais. Searched yet again, smiled and said "Eu so tenho isso; R$167"*. Was it getting suddenly hotter or was it only me?
I had to take things back: the kid's chocolate, they still have some; we really don't need cookies, we should diet; no, not leaving the tortillas, they are only sold here, these go home ...
I gathered some things and she "deleted them" manually!!! She called the supervisor, reported the items by number, amd waited for him to enter them into the register. Then, she added them, subtracted (by hand) and said " return some more, you're still short" or something like that. The process was repeated three or four times. Every time this happened, the lady behind me was looking at us in dismay, each time displaying her annoyment in a more visible way... The girl that was helping me with the bags started giggling and making comments with other girls, I was getting more and more nervous which only translates to laughter in my case, until I burst into a full blown laugh-turned into tears. We were all cracking up! The lady had already left to another cashier and I had but half of my grocery cart left to take home.
In the end, I had only 10 cents left, that I gave to the girl as a token of the day (they are not allowed to receive tips).
Guess I have to go grocery shopping again, this time somewhere else!


*I only have R$167"

Thursday, August 27, 2009

Watch out! She's got wheels!

I decided to go to the Post Office on my bike. Alan had carefully cleaned it and pumped some air into the tires, so it was ready to be used in Rio! I whizzed through the controlled entrance, the security guys amused by my new vehicle promptly lifted the gate and waved.
I "parked" inside the minuscle office and walked (three steps) to the counter. I had about 10 letters to be mailed, but half of them didn't yet have complete address on them (BTW: I probably don't have your address-lost the book, really-, so if you're reading this, please send it to me: diferal@mac.com).
I gave them all to the lady anyway and she looked puzzled, despite the fact that I explained where they were going to. Then she said "Eu não tenho selos". Which to me sounds like "I am not jealous". What?! I was going to say "good for you!" but thought I should keep it professional and instead I asked for "timbres", and proceeded to lick my fingers and "stamp" them on the envelope... She repeated "Eu não tenho selos,você pode obtê-los em Barra Shopping", which means " I don't have stamps, you can get them at Barra Shopping...
O K ...
So, you go to the Post Officce, I mean like a real post office, not some kind of distributor, and they don't have stamps!? What's this about?!!! She explained that she has to put them into the machine and send them, and no, she cannot run them through the machine and give them to me to finish up, and no, there is no way she has stamps, I must go to Barra Shopping, to a larger office, sorry about this but that's the way it is! hmmm.
She took just half of my stack of letters and I wheeled out of there. The stores line up to an oversized
sidewalk where I saw this little fox terrier, no leash, wandering around as if looking for his owner... an idea crept into me , but I brushed it away... I thought of going to get some bread, but leaving my bike outside unprotected would be tempting fate, so I headed back home. The doggie came to me, I pet him, and he followed me about 5 yards, a start.
I went back home and asked Alan for his chain and the lock's combo. "It's on a little sticker ON the lock!" - so much for security here, but it'll do! Five minutes later I was again at the strip mall, past the Post Office, towards the bakery. The dog was still there, following whoever eyed him best... the idea rushed into me this time, and I now had some bait: the bread I would buy.
When I came out of the bakery, there was a guy with a dog on a leash, and the little dog was snooping around. Could it be his owner? Nah, why would he have only one dog on a leash? I waited.
A nicely dressed lady saw the dog and started petting him!!! I could tell she liked the dog, too, and she started looking around for the owner. She talked to her maid and made comments to passer-bys... how could it be? she beat me to the dog? No, way!
She stayed there and I was a couple of steps away, on my bike, if only I were walking! the dog didn't like her and walked away. Maybe he sensed something...
So, I followed the dog into a tiny shop (about 6 ft2) that sells all you need for your barbecue: ice, beers, sodas, coal, etc., where two guys were talking. The dog sat on the floor right there! I asked them about a sign they posted on their door, they are collecting clothes and items for poor people, and, by the way, nice dog!, and then I heard "oh, thanks!" and my heart shrank. I knew I would not be able to take the dog home.
Maybe it was a good idea after all; my bike got me out of there fast!

Tuesday, August 25, 2009

A day in the life of...

We wake up to my iPod's* choice at 4:55 and remain in bed for those glorious 5-10 minutes. (I have given up trying to meditate then, because all that would happen is that I fell asleep again!). Fernando brings my best-part-of the-day to me: my cup of Joe with hints of milk, no sugar and proceeds to wake up the kids. After they've jumped into the shower I trail downstairs and start preparing breakfast.
Then it all happens suddenly: Fernando and the kids appear, plates are served, lunch or fruit packed, kisses given and by 6:10 I find myself waiting for the school bus- we now go to the corner to make it easier for all-and I'm alone.
I've made it a habit to rake the fallen flowers on the front yard, it takes me 5-10 minutes, and after that I take a walk through the neighborhood, spotting different birds and looking out for the tiny monkeys I've seen before (so cute!). I haven't walked more than 30 minutes, but it's a good start.
When I return, I take a shower and turn on my computer to check my emails and the news. (I sneak in a game or two of sudoku, but shhh, don't tell anyone).
These days I'm still working on cleaning out boxes, papers, etc. and trying to figure out where things will go, this, believe it or not, has taken a BIG chunk of time and I don't even feel I've made progress.
This was also the time to do housework, but last week I have a new helper, Luzia, who takes care of basically everything: the house, the clothes and cooking. She had been working with the landlord and his family for over 13 years and is already a great-grandmother because she had her first baby when she was 15, and her daughters followed suit!!! She loves talking and shares stories about her family (and sometimes the neighbors) with me. She knows plants well, bugs and different fruits that I'm not used to and will cook them for me. Luzia saw a slow cooker for the first time and she didn't believe it would cook the beans, but loved the flavor and the idea of it!
It seems every week I have to go and pay something: the rent, eletricity, kid's bus service, kid's school, etc. So a walk to the bank, to the cleaners and why not, to get a coffee take up half a day. People are very friendly, so the bookstore owner will wave every time he sees me, as will the dry cleaning lady, or the newspaper girl. If I so wished, I could easily stop and have a chat with them, they are eager to know about Mexico and about my first impressions of Brazil.
Another day will be spent going to the grocery store, especially if I'm going to that store for the first time! I scrutinize the shelves and the products and ask anybody around me if I don't know what it is or how to use/cook it. The local products are actually cheap (compared to US or Mexico), but anything that is imported will have a higher price tag, usually double the price in the US.
Mexican food is not known here, but I managed to find a package of flour tortillas with instructions printed on the package on how to use them, fold them, etc. They are made by a huge Mexican bread company (Bimbo), so you can say they're the "real McCoy"! American products are also limited, for example there is only one [local] barbeque sauce, two or three salad dressings (people here either make their own or use vinegar and oil), etc. Forget about hamburguer/tuna helpers or casseroles or things like that. I miss Kroger. And Target. And Marshalls, Macys, in fact shopping is nowhere else in the world like it is in the US and you get used to that pretty quickly., so I miss all of them in alphabetical order. Anne Taylor. Container Store, etc.

By 3:30 I better have most things done because the kids will be home in about an hour, and from that point on things go rather fast again! We talk, do homework, watch some tv or read, wait for Fernando, have dinner and go to bed!

*last week my iPod died. I over worked her for 4 years, loaded her up with thousands of pictures, songs and podcasts. Took her everywhere and got her new friends: the iHome wake-us-upper and some iHear speakers (I made that name up) in the kitchen... she could've even hook up with the new tv, but no, she decided my casual tossing her and dropping her were no good and she needed to go get a better life! Now we're using Fernando's.

Monday, August 24, 2009

Parent's day out!

Sunday morning and we are still fixing things around the house. This is the never-ending story, you open up one box and get rid of it, but more things pop up elsewhere...
A guy from Samsung came to install Fernando's new toy: his LED tv, less than an inch thick, that can be hung from the wall. It took him about 4 hours to do it, but it was a thorough and well done job, he also installed the home theater to go with it.Now we're all set: internet, phones, tv and music, what more can you ask for?

After lunch we decided to go buy some fruit to a store I just found (Hortifrut), that became my favorite here, and I wanted to show it to Fernando, but the kids refused to go out, they had books to read and clarinet to practice. The store was closed, but we saw a cafe accross the street from the beach, packed with groups of people talking and discussing life (Brazilians love to talk, given the chance, they will always talk about anything, with anybody); we decided a beer was in order. It was quite nice to sit outside watching the waves, people playing beach volleyball, the other tables full, the sun starting to set. The wind started to blow, achilly sway of the coconut palms told us it was time to go, another week is starting!

Saturday, August 22, 2009

Saturday in the park...

Well, not really, I just remembered that song from Chicago and liked it as a title...
Saturday was another "cold" day. I even decided to wear a light turtle neck that I have with a 3/4 sleeve. Fernando cracked up when he saw me zip up my ankle boots and told me to take a picture because this would probably be the only day fit for wearing that here!
We worked around the house, still unpacking some of the boxes that are haunting my dining room.
We went to the shopping area 3 blocks away so the guys could get a haircut while the car was being washed, and Fernando and I had some coffee and pastries. I took an extra sweater and we headed out. Fernando had to run back in to get his jacket since the light rain and the wind made it all cooler (see??? "I told you so" was in order, but I just laghed out loud!).
Later on Eric got the call he was waiting for: a group invitation to the movies! We all took him to the mall (yes, Barra Shopping) which was absolutely packed because nobody wanted to be outside in the cold! He met 4 boys and a girl and took my cell phone to call me later on. We let our little boy walk away without us! While at the mall, I checked out a bicycle store because I want a basket on my pink Schwinn.
When we picked him up, he was really happy telling us all the stories and talking about his friends. They had McDonald's after the movie, so he was only going to chat with us while we had the fondue I had told them about, and he was sorry about this because fondue did seem like a good idea.
We finally got home, late and cold, it was dark and wet outside, perfect for a fondue night. We set the table and cut the bread, heated the cheese and just then reallized we were out of white wine. "Look over there", I motioned while trying to keep the cheese moving, but desperately needing the wine... so I left the place for 30 seconds, in the hands of Fernando and Alan... and they were "experimenting" with RED wine. YES, merlot was their choice. The mixture looked interesting to begin with, but was quickly changing to a weirder color, a violet-grayish shade of purple- blue hues were appearing and mixing with the yellowish cheese...
Eric came into the room and asked about the "play-doh" -until he figured out we were not "playing", but actually "cooking" the fondue!!! We all laughed when he pointed out that McDonald's was actually a VERY good choice that night!
We ate our plastified concoction, promising never to use red wine again!

Wednesday, August 19, 2009

The School's Open House

It's an early rain, again, the kind of rain I've only seen here: very, very fine, almost a mist sometimes, a spray. Changing with time but never with large drops, like the ones I know from Mexico or Houston. It's starting to get chilly (well, me definition of chilly has changed since living in Houston- it's around 62 F, 17 C) and I take the bus with the kids, to school.

It's nice to see the ocean and the mountains on the way to school, but you know kids, I don't even think they admire the scenery!
Middle school parents have the Open House at 8 and we start with coffee and cookies, followed by a brief introduction from the principal. We then had another conference, this time by grade, where they explained the project the 8th graders will have in Curitiba, one of the first planned cities in Brazil. They will visit a recycling facility, talk to the City Major and help a community, all wrapped up in one week!
The kids gave us a packet with papers, brochures, etc. and a copy of their schedule. We then went from class to class to meet their teachers and have a taste of the subjects they take, meet their classmates with their parent(s). We went through an algebra test, a book review, a social studies problem, Spanish (I was surprised at the high level here, I actually learned something there), a Portuguese lesson and a game of basketball!!!
All the while, we went up and down the stairs, got lost, got to advisory late (no pink slip, though) and met lots of parents. :-)
We had lunch in the cafeteria- not lunch, actually a full dinner: soup, rice, choice of meat or chicken dish, cooked vegetables, salad bar and dessert!!!! (no wonder they are not hungry when they get home!!)

Alan's open house (5th) started at 1:00 in the auditorium where the elementary school principal introduced ALL the teachers and staff (this school is sooo much smaller than Hamilton! There's basically one or two groups per grade, plus the music, PE and Portugese teachers) .
We met his teacher and some parents, and went through the program in a more relaxed way than middle school. I was glad to hear English and Spanish spoken all over the place- you never realize what an effort it is to try to understand the foreign language! It actually tires your brain!
She gave some class rules(the only one totally different was about parties: she'll hand out invitations as long as the whole class is invited, mothers may bring cake and drinks to the class but we must talk to her a week in advance, etc.), she introduced her helper, showed us the books they used, and let us see their work so far.
I met Dylan's mom, Alan's new friend who just arrived here 4 days ago.

We took the bus back home and I was exhausted at the end of the day!!!!! Thank God I didn't get homework!
My legs hurt from going up and down the stairs all day long!


Friday, August 14, 2009

Meeting the neighbors

We wanted to introduce ourselves to the neighbors, but it seemed that the weekends we intended to do so, they were having some kind of party or get together and we didn't want to "crash the party"! (well, I secretly did, but Fernando would not approve...)

One day, we arrived at the same time the couple accross the street from us did, and while they were getting out of their car and opening their gate, we approached them. They were surprised and quickly introduced themselves as well. After that, they insisted we go into their house to keep talking (It's considered rude- or not wanting to let you into their lives- to be left outside) and they promptly offered coffee, tea, water, etc. We chatted for a while and learned they are Brazilians from Sao Paulo, they also lived abroad, in Japan, for about 5 years. After a while, Joao Luiz wanted to show Fernando something and we ended up going on a tour all over their house!!!
Since then, Ana Maria has been very friendly with me and has taken me twice to two different grocery stores after she realized I still don't have a car or know my way around. She told me how lonely she had been living abroad and that she really needed help, and she remembered how hard it is to be in a place where you don't speak the language and everything is different.
Last week, she came to tell me that she was "having a coffee" with some neighbors, so I could meet them, Friday at 3:30.
The date arrived. I had been running errands and had missed lunch, but figured coffee would do. When I entered her house, I found a beautifully set table with lots of finger food and desserts!!!
My next door neighbor, Marcia, arrived half and hour late and another lady, Sonia called in to say she'd arrive later (around 4:30!- welcome to the third world!). Frankly, we didn't mind at all, we were busy getting acquainted as they deciphered my "Portunnol" (Portuguese + Espanol). It was amazing how well I understood everything (and they would slow down and explain if I didn't). I learned the word for gossip "fofoca" very well!!! We talked and talked, and ate and ate, and had a jolly good time. Suddenly someone said "Ooopaah!* Look at the time: 8:30 pm and my husband doesn't know I'm here!". We started saying our good byes and exchanging telephones (no "Cardinal Newsletter" here). They welcomed me yet again and offered any kind of help I needed.
I really appreciated that because I left such good neighbors and friends in Cypress that I knew would be really tough to duplicate... I still miss my friends and I often wished for at least a fraction of that great friendly environment.


* "upa!" typical interjection used by Cariocas, expressing surprise

Wednesday, August 5, 2009

OMG!!! So much to do, so little time...

Dear friends,
so sorry I haven*t been writing lately!! I~ve been caught up in school activities, opening boxes, getting around.
We finally moved to our house last Sunday, the day before school began... We got the beds on Friday and we sorted out some things, but we are still way off to being settled in.
As of right now we don]t have internet, phone, tv, and my cell phone broke down yesterday night. Yes, I*m still alive...
The internet-phone-cable people came today and they told me they could not install it because the house was not prepared for it, we need to call someone in to open holes in the walls and bring the cable from the street!!!!!!!!!!!! uuuuggggghhhh. So, I already called someone and they are coming Friday morning to see what they need for that, probably get it done on Saturday, and then I need to get another appointment with the cable guys... so we*re probably talking another week!!!
I was freaking out yesterday when I wanted to call my friend Amber to wish her happy birthday, plus |I~ve got accounts to pay and other things to do, like this blog, and keep in touch with everybody. I finally got to this internet cafe, far away from home and wher only one computer really works for me... sort of, I can~t find the apostrophe...

I started goetting a little desperate this week when the kids went off to school. They leave at 6:10 am and come back close to 5 pm. Fernando went to Chile this week, so I~ve been basically by myself all day long... not nice. I try to focus on the good, on the work, on the memories, on the pictures I have!
Anyway, I will write all the things I want to convey at home, put it in a drive and bring it back tomorrow...
I finally met a neighbor, great experience! Tell you about that tomorrow.

bye to all (my 5 readers), all great friends- and cuz! Thanks for being there.
Luv ya.
Di

Sunday, August 2, 2009

She's got wheels now!

I decided to go to the Post Office on my bike. Alan had carefully cleaned it and pumped some air into the tires, so it was ready to be used in Rio! I whizzed through the controlled entrance, the security guys amused by my new vehicle promptly lifted the gate and waved.
I "parked" inside the minuscle office and walked (three steps) to the counter. I had about 10 letters to be mailed, but half of them didn't yet have complete address on them (BTW: I probably don't have your address-lost the book, really-, so if you're reading this, please send it to me: diferal@mac.com).
I gave them all to the lady anyway and she looked puzzled, despite the fact that I explained where they were going to. Then she said "Eu não tenho selos". Which to me sounds like "I am not jealous". What?! I was going to say "good for you!" but thought I should keep it professional and instead I asked for "timbres", and proceeded to lick my fingers and "stamp" them on the envelope... She repeated "Eu não tenho selos,você pode obtê-los em Barra Shopping", which means " I don't have stamps, you can get them at Barra Shopping...
O K ...
So, you go to the Post Officce, I mean like a real post office, not some kind of distributor, and they don't have stamps!? What's this about?!!! She explained that she has to put them into the machine and send them, and no, she cannot run them through the machine and give them to me to finish up, and no, there is no way she has stamps, I must go to Barra Shopping, to a larger office, sorry about this but that's the way it is! hmmm.
She took just half of my stack of letters and I wheeled out of there. The stores line up to an oversized
sidewalk where I saw this little fox terrier, no leash, wandering around as if looking for his owner... an idea crept into me , but I brushed it away... I thought of going to get some bread, but leaving my bike outside unprotected would be tempting fate, so I headed back home. The doggie came to me, I pet him, and he followed me about 5 yards, a start.
I went back home and asked Alan for his chain and the lock's combo. "It's on a little sticker ON the lock!" - so much for security here, but it'll do! Five minutes later I was again at the strip mall, past the Post Office, towards the bakery. The dog was still there, following whoever eyed him best... the idea rushed into me this time, and I now had some bait: the bread I would buy.
When I came out of the bakery, there was a guy with a dog on a leash, and the little dog was snooping around. Could it be his owner? Nah, why would he have only one dog on a leash? I waited.
A nicely dressed lady saw the dog and started petting him!!! I could tell she liked the dog, too, and she started looking around for the owner. She talked to her maid and made comments to passer-bys... how could it be? she beat me to the dog? No, way!
She stayed there and I was a couple of steps away, on my bike, if only I were walking! the dog didn't like her and walked away. Maybe he sensed something...
So, I followed the dog into a tiny shop (about 6 ft2) that sells all you need for your barbecue: ice, beers, sodas, coal, etc., where two guys were talking. The dog sat on the floor right there! I asked them about a sign they posted on their door, they are collecting clothes and items for poor people, and, by the way, nice dog!, and then I heard "oh, thanks!" and my heart shrank. I knew I would not be able to take the dog home.